top of page

The exhibition presents eleven original lithographs as well as several watercolours, very rarely exhibited, revealing Rivière's creative process. All are devoted to Brittany.

 

Every year, from 1885 to 1916, Rivière, born in Paris in 1864, surveyed the Brittany coast from May to October, residing in Saint-Briac then Tréboul, Morgat and Loguivy, near Paimpol, where he had a house built. Carrying his watercolour equipment, he sketches the landscapes with great precision, before finalising the compositions of his prints in his studio in Paris, during the winter months.  

 

Between 1890 and 1894, he devoted a series of forty woodcuts to the region, entitled Paysages bretons, the largest of which, composed of five plates, represents Le Pardon de Sainte-Anne-La-Palud (1892-1893). From 1897, he devoted four series of lithographs to Brittany: Les Aspects de la nature (sixteen plates, 1897-1898), Le Beau pays de Bretagne (twenty plates, 1898-1917), La Féérie des heures (sixteen plates , 1901-1902) and Au vent de noroît (four plates, 1906). All his lithographs were printed with great care in twelve or fourteen successive passes of colours at the printer Eugène Verneau.  

 

In his prints, Rivière embraces the principles of Japanese engravings by Hokusai and Hiroshige, adapting them to the landscape of Brittany. The drawing is simplified, the human figures are underlined with a black line, without modelling. A great follower of Japonism, Rivière borrows from the art of ukiyo-e the atmospheric effects in gradient, the off-center points of view, the asymmetrical framing cutting the subject (as in Night at sea) or the plunging views (in Bateaux au anchorage at Tréboul). Rivière also practiced photography and one should not underestimate the influence of this modern art par excellence on his engraver's eye when he chooses the framing of his prints.

 

In Brittany, considered at the end of the 19th century as a land that was still wild and preserved from industrialisation, Rivière was interested in the link between sea and land, in atmospheric effects and in the manual work of men and women, always in harmony with nature. He shows the life of peasants as sailors, without picturesque, which makes him one of the best observers of Brittany.

Estampe-Bretagne-Henri-Riviere-Les-Mousses-Riv-08.jpeg

CONFERENCE

DSC_0262r_Rivière_mathilde _le_coz.JPG

Saturday June 19, 2021 at 5 p.m.
​Hôtel de la Palge
Sainte-Anne-la-Palud

The conference will unveil Rivière's technique for creating his colour lithographs, supported by the decomposition of the different stages of printing a lithograph - a  look back to the artist's creative process. 

bottom of page

L’exposition présente onze lithographies originales ainsi que plusieurs aquarelles, très rarement exposées, dévoilant le processus créatif de Rivière. Toutes sont consacrées à la Bretagne.

 

Chaque année, de 1885 à 1916, Rivière, né à Paris en 1864, arpentait les côtes bretonnes de mai à octobre, résidant à Saint-Briac puis Tréboul, Morgat et Loguivy, près de Paimpol, où il se fit construire une maison. Emportant son matériel d’aquarelliste, il croque avec grande précision le paysage, avant de mettre au point les compositions de ses estampes dans son atelier à Paris, durant les mois d’hiver. 

 

Entre 1890 et 1894, il consacre une série de quarante gravures sur bois à la région, intitulée, Paysages bretons, dont la plus grande, composée de cinq planches, représente Le Pardon de Sainte-Anne-La-Palud (1892-1893). À partir de 1897, il consacre quatre séries de lithographies à la Bretagne : Les Aspects de la nature (seize planches, 1897-1898), Le Beau pays de Bretagne (vingt planches, 1898-1917), La Féérie des heures (seize planches, 1901-1902) et Au vent de noroît (quatre planches, 1906). Toutes ses lithographies furent imprimées avec grand soin en douze ou quatorze passages successifs de couleurs chez l’imprimeur Eugène Verneau. 

 

Dans ses estampes, Rivière fait siens les principes des gravures japonaises de Hokusai et Hiroshige, les adaptant au paysage de la Bretagne. Le dessin est simplifié, les figures humaines sont soulignées d’un trait noir, sans modelé. Grand adepte du japonisme, Rivière emprunte à l’art de l’ukiyo-e les effets atmosphériques en dégradé, les points de vue décentrés, les cadrages asymétriques coupant le sujet (comme dans Nuit en mer) ou les vues plongeantes (dans Bateaux au mouillage à Tréboul). Rivière a également pratiqué la photographie et il ne faut pas minorer l’influence de cet art par excellence moderne sur son œil de graveur quand il choisit les cadrages de ses estampes.

 

En Bretagne, considérée à la fin du XIXe siècle comme une terre encore sauvage et préservée de l’industrialisation, Rivière s’intéresse au lien entre mer et terre, aux effets atmosphériques et au travail manuel des hommes et des femmes, toujours en harmonie avec la nature. Il montre la vie des paysans comme des marins, sans pittoresque, ce qui fait de lui l’un des meilleurs observateurs de la Bretagne.

Estampe-Bretagne-Henri-Riviere-Les-Mousses-Riv-08.jpeg

CONFÉRENCE

DSC_0262r_Rivière_mathilde _le_coz.JPG

Samedi 19 juin 2021 à 17h
​Hôtel de la plage
Sainte-Anne-la-Palud

La conférence dévoilera la technique de Rivière pour créer ses lithographies en couleur, avec à l’appui la décomposition des différentes étapes d’impression d’une lithographie - une plongée au cœur du processus créatif de l’artiste.