top of page

HENRI RIVIÈRE  (1864-1951)

Henri Rivière is considered to be the greatest engraver of the end of the 19th century. A native of Paris, friend of Paul Signac and Edgar Degas, he frequented the Montmartre artistic community and became artistic director of the famous Chat Noir cabaret in the 1880s and 1890s, designing all kinds of ingenious sets. He renovated the art of engraving thanks to his mastery of technical processes and his assimilation of the principles of Japonism.

 

Discovering Brittany in 1885, where he met Renoir, Rivière spends half of his time there each year, surveying the Pink Granite Coast and the Finistère coast to sketch the seascapes, the work of the peasants, the work of the fishermen. He particularly liked Tréboul then Morgat in Finistère and Loguivy, near Paimpol, in Côtes-d'Armor, where he bought a house called “Landiris” in 1895.

Engraving first on wood, after months of hard work, Rivière managed to reproduce the Japanese engravers' method as an autodidact in order to obtain prints in several colors. This discovery earned him fame in the 1890s and critical acclaim. From 1897, he abandoned woodcut for lithography (printing from a stone matrix).  

In 1913, Eugène Verneau, his lifelong printer, died. After 1917, Rivière gave up lithography, devoting himself to the technique of etching and, above all, to watercolour, which he had been practicing since 1890. He had executed more than seven hundred watercolours during his life, which 'he painted in front of the motif during his daily outings to explore nature: exhibited only once during his lifetime, in 1921, Rivière kept them in his studio until his death.  

After 1916, his wife's health declining, Rivière no longer frequents Brittany but settles in Provence, with a milder climate, where he spends the winter months. Blind in 1943, he wrote his memoirs, published in 2004 under the title Les Détours du Chemin. He died surrounded by his friends in 1951, in Sucy-en-Brie.  

Also set designer, photographer, poet and collector of Asian art, Rivière owned many prints by the great Japanese printmakers, Hokusai and Hiroshige, whom he admired. Most of Rivière's work is now kept at the National Library of France following a donation in 2006.

bottom of page

HENRI RIVIÈRE  (1864-1951)

Henri Rivière est considéré comme le plus grand graveur de la fin du XIXe siècle. Natif de Paris, ami de Paul Signac et d’Edgar Degas, il fréquenta le milieu artistique montmartrois et devint directeur artistique du célèbre cabaret du Chat noir dans les années 1880 et 1890, concevant toutes sortes de décors ingénieux. Il rénova l’art de la gravure grâce à sa maîtrise des processus techniques et son assimilation des principes du japonisme.

 

Découvrant la Bretagne en 1885, où il croise Renoir, Rivière y passe la moitié de son temps chaque année, arpentant la Côte de Granit Rose et la côte finistérienne pour croquer les paysages marins, le travail des paysans, le labeur des pêcheurs. Il affectionne particulièrement Tréboul puis Morgat dans le Finistère et Loguivy, près de Paimpol, dans les Côtes-d’Armor, où il achète une maison baptisée « Landiris » en 1895.

Gravant d’abord sur bois, après des mois de labeur, Rivière parvient à reproduire en autodidacte la méthode des graveurs japonais afin d’obtenir des estampes en plusieurs couleurs. Cette découverte lui vaut la célébrité dans les années 1890 et les éloges de la critique. À partir de 1897, il abandonne la gravure sur bois pour la lithographie (impression à partir d’une matrice en pierre). 

En 1913, Eugène Verneau, son imprimeur de toujours, meurt. Après 1917, Rivière abandonne la lithographie, se consacrant à la technique de l’eau-forte et, surtout, à l’aquarelle, qu’il pratique depuis 1890. Il a exécuté plus de sept cents aquarelles au cours de sa vie, qu’il peignait devant le motif lors de ses sorties quotidiennes pour explorer la nature : exposées une seule fois de son vivant, en 1921, Rivière les a gardées dans son atelier jusqu’à sa mort. 

Après 1916, la santé de sa femme déclinant, Rivière ne fréquente plus la Bretagne mais s’installe en Provence, au climat plus doux, où il passe les mois d’hiver. Devenu aveugle en 1943, il écrit ses mémoires, publiées en 2004 sous le titre Les détours du chemin. Il meurt entouré de ses amis en 1951, à Sucy-en-Brie. 

Également scénographe, photographe, poète et collectionneur d’art asiatique, Rivière possédait de nombreuses estampes des grands graveurs japonais, Hokusai et Hiroshige, qu’il admirait. La plus grande partie l’œuvre de Rivière est aujourd’hui conservée à la Bibliothèque Nationale de France suite à une dation en 2006.