top of page

MY OTHER SELF
Samuel Aiwerioghene, Victor Puš-Perch, Lea Simhony



13.09 - 23.09.23
Opening on Tuesday, September 12, 6 p.m. - 9 p.m.

Gallery Mathilde Le Coz  presents My Other Self, a collective exhibition bringing together paintings by three European artists: Samuel Aiwerioghene (Denmark), Victor Puš-Perchaud (France) and Lea Simhony (Germany). From identity building to self-affirmation, from the relationship to the other to existence with others, these three artists are representative of an egotistical and intimate contemporary painting that questions identity processes and examines our being-in-the-world.  

 

For Victor Puš-Perchaud, this quest for identity goes through self-exploration. Captured by the hyper-sensitive surface of the canvas, put at a distance by the frame, its interiority becomes other, one other to observe and tell. Using the motif of the mirror and cropping images into different scenes, the artist develops a sequenced personal narrative, a self-fiction in which he becomes an actor in a foreign pictorial narrative. The use of the self-portrait, a reflection of oneself which, on the canvas, becomes other, allows a greater interior progression, a fall towards oneself with universal scope. 

 

If self-portrait makes me one other, the portrait of the other that is not me allows, similarly, an intimate exploration of self-identity. Lea Simhony portrays women who do not exist, women who, alone on the scene of the painting, let themselves being watched as they offer themselves to the look of others. Models, muses or actresses - never passive - they sustain the viewer's gaze.  From one canvas to the next, from one persona to the next, the painter plays with the pictorial variations of her interiority. These composite figures - her invented otherness - are her many faces, fragmented alter egos, archipelized in each of her works. 

 

The virile and tense bodies of Samuel Aiwerioghene testify to a similar process. A character with an apprehensive gaze accompanies, lumpy and tight, the spectator from canvas to canvas. This man on edge - the painter's pictorial alter ego? - is shot through with emotions that resurface in grains on the surface of the painting. The united backgrounds, minimalist and sober, evacuate any narration, prohibit any distraction. This sensitive double is alone with others - his eyes are riveted on the exterior of a scene in which, it seems, he cannot take part. 

 

From self-observation in the mirror to asserting oneself on the canvas and questioning one's existence in relation to others, Victor Puš-Perchaud, Lea Simhony and Samuel Aiwerioghene paint the complex enigma of identity and difference. With painting, a process essential to their being-in-the-world, these image makers make fiction of reality to better detect its contours. The canvas allows them the pictorial experience of others - this Sartrean "me who is not me" - My Other Self. 

MY OTHER SELF

Samuel Aiwerioghene, Victor Puš-Perch, Lea Simhony

Exhibition | Wednesday 13 - Saturday 23 September 2023

Opening |Tuesday, September 12 from 6 p.m. to 9 p.m.

 

Mathilde Le Coz Gallery - Paris

11 rue Michel-le-Comte, 75003 Paris

Open Wednesday to Saturday from 2 p.m. to 7 p.m.

Contact |mathilde.m.lecoz@gmail.com

+33 (0)6 35 60 11 07 - @mathildemlecoz

bottom of page

top of page

MY OTHER SELF
Samuel Aiwerioghene, Victor Puš-Perchaud, Lea Simhony



13.09 - 23.09.23
Vernissage le mardi 12 septembre 18h - 21h

La galerie Mathilde Le Coz présente My Other Self, une exposition collective réunissant les toiles de trois artistes européens : Samuel Aiwerioghene (Danemark), Victor Puš-Perchaud (France) et Lea Simhony (Allemagne). De la construction à l’affirmation de soi, du rapport à l’autre à l’existence avec autrui, ces trois artistes sont représentatifs d’une peinture contemporaine égotiste et intime qui interroge les processus identitaires et questionne notre être-au-monde. 

 

Pour Victor Puš-Perchaud, cette quête identitaire passe par l’exploration de soi. Captée par la surface hyper sensible de la toile, mise à distance par le châssis, son intériorité devient autre, un autre à observer et à raconter. Par le biais du miroir et du découpage de l’image en différents tableaux, l’artiste développe une narration personnelle séquencée, une auto-fiction dans laquelle il devient acteur d’un récit pictural étranger. Le recours à l’autoportrait, un reflet de soi qui, sur la toile, devient autre, lui autorise une plus grande progression intérieure, une chute vers soi à portée universelle. 

 

Si l’autoportrait fait du moi un autre, le portrait de celle qui n’est pas soi permet, à l’avenant, une exploration identitaire et intime. Lea Simhony portraiture des femmes qui n’existent pas, des femmes qui, seules sur la scène du tableau, se laissent regarder comme elles se donnent à voir. Modèles, muses ou actrices - jamais passives - elles soutiennent le regard du spectateur.  D’une toile à l’autre, d’une persona à l’autre, la peintre joue les variations picturales de son intériorité. Ces figures composées, ces altérités inventées sont tous ses visages - des alter egos morcelés, archipélisés dans chacune de ses oeuvres. 

 

Les corps virils et tout en tension de Samuel Aiwerioghene témoignent d’un processus similaire. Un personnage au regard appréhensif accompagne grumelant et crispé le spectateur de toiles en toiles. Cet homme à fleur de peau - l’alter ego pictural du peintre ? - est traversé d’émotions qui resurgissent en grain à la surface du tableau. Les fonds unis, minimalistes et sobres, évacuent toute narration, interdisent toute distraction. Ce double sensible est seul à plusieurs - ses yeux sont rivés sur l’extérieur d'une scène à laquelle il ne semble pas pouvoir participer, faute de se sentir appartenir et accepté.

 

De l’observation de soi dans le miroir à l’affirmation de soi sur la toile et aux questionnements de son existence par rapport aux autres, Victor Puš-Perchaud, Lea Simhony et Samuel Aiwerioghene peignent la complexe énigme de l’identité et de la différence. Avec la peinture, procédé essentiel à leur être-au-monde, ces faiseurs d’image font fiction du réel pour mieux en déceler les contours. La toile leur permet l’expérience picturale d’autrui, ce sartrien “moi qui n’est pas moi” - mon autre moi (My Other Self). 

MY OTHER SELF

Samuel Aiwerioghene, Victor Puš-Perchaud, Lea Simhony

Exposition | mercredi 13 - samedi 23 septembre 2023

Vernissage | mardi 12 septembre de 18h à 21h

 

Galerie Mathilde Le Coz - Paris

11 rue Michel-le-Comte, 75003 Paris

Ouvert du mercredi au samedi de 14h à 19h

Contact | mathilde.m.lecoz@gmail.com

+33 (0)6 35 60 11 07 - @mathildemlecoz

bottom of page