top of page

WHERE I GAZE 

September 28 - October 16, 2022 
11 rue Michel-le-Comte - 75003 Paris

A group exhibition of emerging artists from Europe and  America organised by gallery Mathilde Le Coz in partnership with Dans les yeux d'Elsa - with Nino Kapanadze, Johan Larnouhet, Aubrey Levinthal, Tatiana Pozzo Di Borgo and Norma Trif .

Whether it is the representation of everyday objects (a cup, eggs, a book page), familiar spaces (a studio or a well-known interior), or the portrait of relatives (Garance, Mélissa & Christian), Nino Kapanadze, Johan Larnouhet, Aubrey Levinthal, Tatiana Pozzo Di Borgo and Norma Trif work on their immediate environment and the sensitive elements that compose it. Gallery Mathilde Le Coz & Dans les yeux d'Elsa bring together for the first time the paintings of these four artists - two French, one Romanian, one Georgian and one American - who choose to paint this frequented, known and accessible world and who show their repertoire of images. 

Where I Gaze is an exhibition where the psychological or physical proximity of an element determines its pictorial value. Whether it is the greenhouses of Norma Trif, the eggs of Tatiana Pozzo Di Borgo or the cups of Johan Larnouhet, the seriality and the repetition of the same motif allow free scope for a methodical formal exploration. The apparent banality of the subject, and its recidivism, exacerbates the attention paid to its execution. Declined in an infinity of variations like scales or stylistic exercises, the painting then becomes its own subject.

But not only. This focus on the everyday object extends to the familiar and interior space and allows a psychological exploration of the motif. When Tatiana Pozzo Di Borgo paints what she finds in her studio (eggs, aprons, mirrors), Norma Trif depicts it emptied of all presence, stripped of anything that could distract from its evocative power as a place of creation. The face to face with the unique object or the place allows the artist to come face to face with herself - an introspection. Aubrey Levinthal even goes so far as to often paint herself in her interiors - blurred, concealed, her self-portraits are only a subtle evocation, the residue of a presence, but testify to the autobiographical quality of her paintings.

This repertoire of personal images is thus a register of experiences whose objects, places and models carry the memory. When Johan Larnouhet or Norma Trif represent their friends, it is not only because they can easily invite them to their studio, but because they convey what binds them and what they have experienced together. And these experiences also make it possible to question painting in a more free way: the hooks depicted by Nino Kapanadze in Commonplace (2022), just like the title of the painting, are so many clues allowing us to situate the composition, which otherwise would be abstract. 

For these artists, to look at these familiar spaces, these everyday objects, to paint their friends and relatives, is to use these motifs of proximity, directly accessible, almost voluntarily mundane as pretexts for pictorial, stylistic and formal research. But, beyond the exercise, it is to study one's repertoire of images, to unravel their mysteries and to show oneself.

INFORMATION

 

Where I Gaze

September 28 - October 16, 2022

Opening - Wednesday, September 28 from 6 p.m. to 9 p.m.

 

Gallery Mathilde Le Coz

11 rue Michel-le-Comte 75003 Paris 

open Tuesday to Saturday 11 a.m. - 7 p.m., Sunday 2 p.m. - 6 p.m. 

and by appointment

 

mathilde.m.lecoz@gmail.com

+33 (0)6 35 60 11 07

@mathildemlecoz 

bottom of page

WHERE I GAZE 

28 septembre - 16 octobre 2022 
11 rue Michel-le-Comte - 75003 Paris

Une exposition collective d’artistes émergents issus de la scène européenne et américaine organisée par la galerie Mathilde Le Coz en partenariat avec Dans les yeux d’Elsa - avec Nino Kapanadze, Johan Larnouhet, Aubrey Levinthal, Tatiana Pozzo Di Borgo et Norma Trif.

Que ce soit la représentation d’objets du quotidien (une tasse, des oeufs, une page de livre), d’espaces familiers (un intérieur, un lieu visité), ou le portrait de proches, Nino Kapanadze, Johan Larnouhet, Aubrey Levinthal, Tatiana Pozzo Di Borgo et Norma Trif travaillent sur leur environnement immédiat et les éléments sensibles qui le composent. La galerie Mathilde Le Coz & Dans les yeux d’Elsa réunissent pour la première fois les peintures de ces cinq artistes - deux Français, une Américaine, une Roumaine et une Géorgienne - qui choisissent de peindre ce monde fréquenté, connu et accessible et qui donnent à voir leur répertoire d’images.

 

Where I Gaze est une exposition où la proximité psychologique ou physique d’un élément détermine sa valeur picturale. Que ce soit les serres de Norma Trif, les oeufs de Tatiana Pozzo Di Borgo ou les tasses de Johan Larnouhet, la sérialité et la répétition du même motif permettent de laisser libre champ à une méthodique exploration formelle. L’apparente banalité du sujet comme sa récidive exacerbent l’attention portée sur son exécution. Déclinée en une infinité de variations, comme des gammes ou des exercices de style, la peinture devient alors son sujet propre.

 

Mais pas seulement. Cette concentration sur l’objet du quotidien s’étend à l’espace familier et intérieur et permet une exploration psychologique du motif. Quand Tatiana Pozzo Di Borgo peint ce qu’elle trouve dans son atelier (oeufs, tabliers, miroirs), Norma Trif le représente vidé de toute présence, dépouillé de tout ce qui pourrait distraire de sa puissance évocatrice en tant que lieu de création. Le face-à-face avec l’objet unique ou le lieu autorise l’artiste à un face-à- face avec lui-même, à une introspection. Aubrey Levinthal va même jusqu’à se peindre régulièrement dans ses intérieurs - brouillé, dissimulé, son autoportrait n’est qu’une évocation subtile, le résidu d’une présence, mais témoigne de la qualité autobiographique de sa peinture.

 

Ce répertoire d’images personnelles est ainsi un registre d’expériences dont les objets, lieux et modèles portent la mémoire. Lorsque Johan Larnouhet ou Norma Trif représentent leurs amis ce n’est pas seulement parce qu’ils peuvent aisément les convoquer dans leur atelier mais parce qu’ils sont porteurs de ce qui les lie et de ce qu’ils ont vécu ensemble. Et ces expériences permettent elles aussi d’interroger la peinture de manière plus libre : les hameçons dépeints par Nino Kapanadze dans Commonplace (2022), tout comme le titre du tableau, sont autant d’indices permettant de situer la composition, qui sinon verserait vers l'abstraction.

 

Pour ces cinq artistes, poser son regard sur ces espaces familiers, ces objets du quotidien, peindre ses proches, c’est se servir de ces motifs de proximité, directement accessibles, parfois presque volontairement banalisés comme prétextes à la recherche picturale, stylistique et formelle. Mais, au delà de l’exercice, c’est étudier son répertoire d’images, en percer les mystères et se donner à voir.

Johan Larnouhet
Johan Larnouhet

Evening star, 2021 Oil on canvas, 140 x 160 cm

press to zoom
Norma Trif
Norma Trif

Self-portrait, 2021 Oil on wood panel 27 x 22 cm

press to zoom
Nino Kapanadze
Nino Kapanadze

Commonplace, 2022 oil on linen 195 x 130 cm

press to zoom
Johan Larnouhet
Johan Larnouhet

Evening star, 2021 Oil on canvas, 140 x 160 cm

press to zoom
1/4

INFORMATIONS

 

Where I Gaze

28 septembre - 16 octobre 2022

Vernissage - mercredi 28 septembre de 18h à 21h

 

Galerie Mathilde Le Coz

11 rue Michel-le-Comte 75003 Paris 

ouvert du mardi au samedi 11h - 19h 

et sur rendez-vous

 

mathilde.m.lecoz@gmail.com

+33 (0)6 35 60 11 07

@mathildemlecoz