top of page

Exhibition March 11 - 30, 2022
Opening Thursday, March 10, 6 p.m. - 9 p.m.
11 rue Michel le Comte - 75003 Paris

INFORMATION
 

TESPRIT - THE INVISIBLES  

Exhibition from March 11 to 30, 2022

Opening on March 10, 2022 from 6 p.m. to 9 p.m.

 

Mathilde M. Le Coz Gallery  

11 rue Michel Le Comte - 75003 PARIS  

Open Tuesday to Saturday from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m.  

and by appointment

Impossible to escape the faceless children staring at us. For his first exhibition in Europe, the young Togolese artist Foli Kossi Gérard Tete aka Tesprit, presents at gallery Mathilde M. Le Coz Les invisibles (The Invisibles), his latest series of works on the street children of Togo, the dzimakplao, literally “ uneducated children” in Mina, the vehicular language of southern Togo.

 

The artist's practice begins outside, in the streets of Lomé, meeting these children whose everyday life he captures (begging, playing, collecting abandoned objects, etc.), and in the city dumps where he gleans the material that characterises and determines his work: used flip-flops and beach sandals. Starting from snapshots taken in the field, the artist associates in his works documentary image and recycling. When he sources the rubber soles, his gestures  even superimpose those of the children he represents. The flip-flops, practical and inexpensive sandals, are moreover named after those who wear them - dzimakplao, “uneducated children” - the signifier of the work then merging completely with the signified.

 

During the transition from photography to carving and gluing the pieces of soles on the canvas, Tesprit operates a radical simplification of the image. The background is made uniform by a grid or by the repetition of a  pattern while the framing is tightened on the models (rarely more than three). The portrait is drawn at shoulder height, sometimes full length, always from the front - without a face. Tesprit sculpts silhouettes masked by a patchwork of soles that simultaneously conceals and universalises his subjects. These children, Kokou, Mokpokpor or Dzifa, who live on the margins of their community and society are the invisible of Lomé as well as the invisible elsewhere. Their heads are turned towards us, they call out in silence, stare without looking - and in turn, we look at them.  

bottom of page

Exposition 11 - 30 mars 2022
Vernissage le jeudi 10 mars 18h - 21h
11 rue Michel le Comte - 75003 Paris

INFORMATIONS
 

TESPRIT - LES INVISIBLES 

Exposition du 11 au 30 mars 2022

Vernissage le 10 mars 2022 de 18h à 21h

 

Galerie Mathilde M. Le Coz 

11 rue Michel Le Comte - 75003 PARIS 

Ouvert du mardi au samedi de 11h à 19h 

et sur rendez-vous

Impossible d’échapper à ces enfants sans visage qui nous dévisagent. Pour sa première exposition en Europe, le jeune artiste togolais Foli Kossi Gérard Tete dit Tesprit, présente à la galerie Mathilde M. Le Coz Les invisibles, sa toute dernière série d’oeuvres sur les enfants des rues du Togo, les dzimakplao, littéralement “enfants sans éducation” en mina, langue véhiculaire du sud du Togo.

 

La pratique de l’artiste commence dehors, dans les rues de Lomé, à la rencontre de ces enfants dont il capture la vie de tous les jours (mendiant, jouant, collectant des objets abandonnés…), et dans les décharges sauvages où il glane le matériau qui caractérise et détermine son travail : les tongs et sandales de plage usagées. Partant de clichés pris sur le terrain, l’artiste associe dans ses oeuvres l’image documentaire et le recyclage. Quand il source les semelles en caoutchouc, ses gestes se  superposent même à ceux des enfants qu’il représente. Les tongs, sandalettes pratiques et peu onéreuses, sont d’ailleurs appelées comme ceux qui les portent - dzimakplao, “enfants sans éducation” - le signifiant de l’oeuvre se confondant alors complètement avec le signifié.

 

Lors du passage de la photographie à la taille et au collage des bouts de semelles sur la toile, Tesprit opère une simplification radicale de l’image. Le fond est uniformisé par un quadrillage ou par la répétition d’un  motif tandis que le cadrage est resserré sur le ou les modèles (rarement plus de trois). Le portrait est tiré à hauteur d’épaule, parfois en pied, toujours de face - sans visage. Tesprit sculpte des silhouettes masquées d’un patchwork de semelles qui, simultanément, dissimule et universalise ses sujets. Ces enfants, Kokou, Mokpokpor ou Dzifa, qui vivent en marge de leur communauté et de la société sont les invisibles de Lomé comme les invisibles d’ailleurs. Leur tête est tournée vers nous, ils interpellent en silence, dévisagent sans regard - à notre tour, nous les regardons.