top of page

LOUISE JANET: 

BUILDING STORIES



04.06-10.06.24
Opening reception on Tuesday June 4,5:30 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.

Exhibition installation views

Louise Janet presents, one year after her graduation from Beaux-Arts de Paris, Building Stories, her second personal exhibition with a new body of oils on canvas which amplify and enhance her practice. The painter's gaze has become more refined, her little stories which she always deploys with lightness tell a bigger one: that of the lives of everyone in megacities in constant transformation. 

The artist who records with her brush the little things of everyday life, the one who crowns those around her with the proudly defended status of hero of the banal, the one who studs her canvases with fabrics, objects and images provides a wider frame to her interiors: the city. It enters through the window or a screen - versatile surfaces -, it exists by itself without a character, it is there moving, marked, often alone. 

As the painter settles in Ivry-sur-Seine, it is a rapidly changing urbanity that she must understand: buildings like populations overlap and coexist without mixing. In his large oil on canvas Des histoires de la ville (Stories of the City) (2024), the artist shows a possible future city, on the computer screen: a video game city with more trees, more luminosity while outside the windows of a concrete low-rise are lit, in an Ivry that does not yet belong to the past.

If one recognises in the artist her appetite for openings through her interiors loaded with screens, paintings, books or mirrors, the modules of the city (its windows, palisades, stones and balconies…) function as delimiting boxes, not far from those in comics. In each window, a new parallel story plays out. These modules act as a true parable of contemporary life compartmentalised with identical apartments where separated stories unfold, carried out side by side - they form our contemporary megacities. 

An often unreal light bathes her interior and urban scenes. A cold blue-green emanates from computers, telephones, projectors, the characters are absorbed in front of these screens which capture all their attention. The screens are as much pretexts for painting as objects transporting her characters into a world that exists only for them, apart from the painting, apart from the city. A purple fog plunges Ivry-sur-Seine into a solitary and fictitious atmosphere, enveloping the city in a very contemporary spleen, that, perhaps, of being stuck between an irremediable future which advances too quickly and a past which we gives up without being prepared. Louise Janet gives a psychological presence to this city, also absorbed and pensive. 

When her paintings are inhabited, it is her loved ones - grandparents, companion, brother - that Louise Janet represents with affection and distance. Only the world of childhood seems protected from the urban and pensive silence which reigns in her works. The artist integrates herself into her compositions, she too belongs to this city and her body fully inscribes her there: her legs, her feet and even her swollen face in the self-portrait Le Monstre (The Monster) (2024) - this is first and foremost through the body that a city is experienced.

With this new exhibition, Louise Janet truly embodies a painting of her time, the content of her works goes beyond the limits of her frames to tell us the solitary beauty and doubt of urban stories. With Building Stories the artist poetically paints these little anecdotes that make up the life of big cities.

LOUISE JANET: BUILDING STORIES

Exhibition | Tuesday 4- Monday 10 Juine 2024

Opening | Tuesday 4 June from 5.30 p.m. to 8.30 p.m.

11 rue Michel le Comte, 75003 Paris

Open Tuesday to Saturday from 2 p.m. to 6 p.m.

Contact | mathilde.m.lecoz@gmail.com

+33 (0)6 35 60 11 07 - @mathildemlecoz

bottom of page

top of page

LOUISE JANET
BUILDING STORIES



04.06-10.06.24
Vernissage le mardi 4 juin 17h30h - 20h30

Vues d'installation de l'exposition

Louise Janet présente, un an après son diplôme des Beaux-Arts de Paris, Building Stories, sa deuxième exposition personnelle avec un nouveau corpus d’huiles sur toile qui amplifient et rehaussent sa pratique.  Le regard de la peintre s’est affiné, ses petites histoires qu’elle déploie toujours avec légèreté en racontent une plus grande : celle de la vie des uns et des autres dans les mégalopoles en constante transformation.

 

L’artiste qui enregistre de son pinceau les petits riens de la vie quotidienne, celle qui couronne son entourage du statut fièrement défendu de héros du banal, celle encore qui constelle ses toiles de tissus, d’objets et d’images donne un cadre plus large à ses intérieurs : la ville. Elle rentre par la fenêtre ou un écran - surfaces versatiles par excellence -, elle existe par elle-même sans personnage, elle est là mouvante, marquée, souvent seule.

 

Alors que la peintre s’installe à Ivry-sur-Seine, c’est une urbanité en pleine mutation qu’elle doit appréhender : les bâtiments comme les populations se superposent et cohabitent sans se mélanger. Dans sa grande huile sur toile Des histoires de la ville (2024), l’artiste donne à voir une possible ville future, sur l’écran d’ordinateur : une ville de jeu vidéo plus arborée, plus lumineuse alors qu’au-dehors, sont allumées les fenêtres d’une barre de béton d’un Ivry n’appartenant pas encore au passé. 

 

Si l’on reconnaît chez l’artiste son appétence pour les tableaux ou les ouvertures par l’entremise de ses intérieurs chargés d’écrans, de peintures, de livres ou de miroirs, les modules de la ville (ses fenêtres, palissades, pierres et balcons…) fonctionnent comme des cases délimitantes, non loin de celles des bandes dessinées. Dans chaque fenêtre, c’est une nouvelle histoire parallèle qui se joue. Ces modules agissent comme une véritable parabole d’une vie contemporaine compartimentée par des appartements identiques où se déroulent des histoires cloisonnées, menées côte à côte, qui forment nos mégapoles contemporaines.

 

Une lumière souvent irréelle baigne ses scènes d’intérieurs et urbaines. Un bleu-vert froid émane d’ordinateurs, de téléphones, de projecteurs, les personnages sont absorbés devant ces écrans qui captent toute leur attention. Les écrans sont tout autant des prétextes à peindre que des objets transportant ses personnages dans un monde qui n’existe que pour eux, en dehors du tableau, en dehors de la ville. Un brouillard mauve plonge Ivry-sur-Seine dans une atmosphère solitaire et fictive, enveloppant la ville d’un spleen tout contemporain, celui, peut-être, d’être coincé entre un futur irrémédiable qui avance trop vite et un passé qu’on abandonne sans y être préparé. Louise Janet donne une présence psychologique à cette ville, elle-aussi, absorbée et songeuse. 

 

Quand ses toiles sont habitées, ce sont ses proches -  grands-parents, compagnon, frère - que Louise Janet représente avec affection et distance. Seul le monde de l’enfance semble protégé du silence urbain et pensif qui règne dans ses oeuvres. L’artiste s’intègre dans ses saynètes, elle aussi, appartient à cette ville et son corps l’y inscrit pleinement : ses jambes, ses pieds et mêmes son visage tuméfié dans l’autoportrait Le Monstre (2024) - c’est avant tout par le corps qu’une ville est vécue.

 

Avec cette nouvelle exposition, Louise Janet incarne véritablement une peinture de son temps, le contenu de ses oeuvres dépasse les limites de ses châssis pour nous raconter la beauté et le doute solitaires des histoires urbaines. Avec Building Stories l’artiste peint avec poésie ces petites histoires qui font la vie des grandes villes.

LOUISE JANET: BUILDING STORIES

 

Exposition | mardi 4 - lundi 10 juin 2024

Vernissage | lardi 4 juin 17h30 à 20h30

11 rue Michel le Comte, 75003 Paris

Ouvert du mardi au lundi de 14h à 18h

Contact | mathilde.m.lecoz@gmail.com

+33 (0)6 35 60 11 07 - @mathildemlecoz

bottom of page