top of page

FOLDED MEMORIES
Nathan Bertet, Nicolas Gaume
Filip Henin, Shanti Shea An



21.05 - 26.05.24
Opening reception 21 May 5.30 p.m. - 8.30 p.m.

Exhibition installation views

With Folded Memories, Elsa Meunier and Mathilde Le Coz galleries present the work of four figurative painters from the Parisian and international scene: the French artists Nathan Bertet and Nicolas Gaume, the Australian Shanti Shea An and the German Filip Henin. They all paint freely between reminiscences and imagination, memories folded by memory, enhanced by thought, deployed by their paintbrushes.

Through her perspectives and the simplification of certain elements, Shanti Shea An unfolds on the canvas an image recomposed by her memory. In the oil on canvas Blue skies at night (2023) it is indeed the green interior of a Parisian apartment, a vivid memory of a past trip, that the artist represents. Night enters through the window, a blue square with a Haussmannian railing which alone locates the scene. In Fill and refill (2024), the colours pass from one thing to another and the objects, reduced to essential geometric shapes, punctuate the composition - on the sensitive surface of the painting, the artist captures the comings and goings of a gesture that is repeated, a gesture that carries the memory of its past occurrence.

Painter of memory, Nathan Bertet immerses himself during long walks in the landscapes that surround him in Palaiseau before recomposing them in his studio. An intimate studio without windows nor natural light, a studio without any visual distraction, a forge of memory which takes shape and colour through the prism of the painter’s eye and emotions. The two oils on canvas from 2024 presented in the exhibition are invaded by dense, tight vegetation, counterbalanced by a delimiting urbanity: a fence, an electric wire, a section of a house. A duality which embodies the artist’s hometown imbued with the memory of years of walks - Nathan Bertet has always crossed these spaces.

For the painter Nicolas Gaume, reminiscence allows the development of a motif that he exhausts through serial work. Initially painting from a model, the portrait of the person represented disappears as the painter captures the essence of his or her lines. The subject vanishes while the bones of a face are revealed which, from canvas to canvas, from gaze to gaze, bears its own individuality. For Nicolas Gaume, memory is a source that must be experienced through repetition to become this other who inhabits his canvas.

Imagination replaces memory for the German painter Filip Henin whose work, full of references, seems to detach itself from a tangible reality to unfold in a fiction of the strange, disturbing on the verge of a nightmare. In the oil on wood Il y a un soleil (2024), the painter takes us on a lonely nocturnal road trip lit only by the headlights of a car coming out of nowhere. The driver’s confusion and isolation activates in the viewer a memory of emotions, lodged near our unconscious, which houses our folded memories.

NIGHT STROLL

Exhibition | Tuesday 21- Sunday 26 May 2024

Opening | Tuesday May 21 from 5.30 p.m. to 8.30 p.m.

15 rue Guénégaud, 75006 Paris

Open Tuesday to Saturday from 2 p.m. to 6 p.m.

Contact | mathilde.m.lecoz@gmail.com

+33 (0)6 35 60 11 07 - @mathildemlecoz

bottom of page

top of page

FOLDED MEMORIES
Nathan Bertet, Nicolas Gaume
Filip Henin, Shanti Shea An



21.05 - 26.05.24
Vernissage le mardi 21 mai  18h - 21h

Vues d'installation de l'exposition

Avec l’exposition Folded Memories, les galeries Elsa Meunier et Mathilde Le Coz mettent en regard le travail de quatre peintres figuratifs de la scène parisienne et internationale : les artistes français Nathan Bertet et Nicolas Gaume, l’australienne Shanti Shea An et l’allemand Filip Henin. Tous peignent librement entre réminiscences et imagination, des souvenirs pliés par la mémoire, rehaussés par la pensée, déployés par leurs pinceaux. 

Par le truchement de ses perspectives et la simplification de certains éléments, Shanti Shea An déplie sur la toile une image recomposée par sa mémoire. Dans l’huile sur toile Blue skies at night (2023) c’est bien l’intérieur vert d’un appartement parisien, souvenir prégnant d’un voyage passé, que l’artiste représente. La nuit entre par la fenêtre, un carré bleu au garde-corps haussmannien qui, seul, situe la scène. Dans Fill and refill (2024), les couleurs passent d’une chose à l’autre et les objets, réduits à des formes géométriques essentielles, scandent la composition - à la surface sensible du tableau, l’artiste capte les allers-retours d’un geste qui se répète, d’un geste qui porte le souvenir de son occurrence passée.

Peintre de la mémoire, Nathan Bertet s’imprègne lors de longues marches des paysages qui l’entourent à Palaiseau avant de les recomposer dans son atelier. Un atelier de l’intime sans fenêtre ni lumière naturelle, un atelier sans aucune distraction visuelle, une forge du souvenir qui prend forme et couleur à travers le prisme de l’œil et des émotions du peintre. Les deux huiles sur toile de 2024 présentées dans l’exposition sont envahies d’une végétation dense, serrée, contrebalancée par une urbanité délimitante : une clôture, un fil électrique, un pan de maison. Une dualité qui incarne la ville natale de l’artiste imprégnée du souvenir de dizaine d’années de promenades - ces espaces, Nathan Bertet les traverse depuis toujours.

Pour le peintre Nicolas Gaume, la réminiscence permet le développement d’un motif qu’il épuise au gré d’un travail en série. Peignant au départ d’après modèle, le portrait de la personne représentée disparaît à mesure que le peintre capte l’essence de ses lignes. Le sujet s’évanouit alors que se révèle l’ossature d’un visage qui, de toile en toile, de regard en regard, porte sa propre individualité. Pour Nicolas Gaume, le souvenir est une source qui doit s’éprouver par la répétition pour devenir cet autre qui habite sa toile.

L’imaginaire se substitue au souvenir chez le peintre allemand Filip Henin dont l’œuvre, pétrie de références semble se détacher d’une réalité tangible pour se déployer dans une fiction de l’étrange, inquiétante à la limite du cauchemar. Dans l’huile sur bois Il y a un soleil (2024), le peintre nous embarque dans un road trip solitaire nocturne éclairé par les seuls phares d’une voiture déboulant de nulle part. L’égarement et l’isolement du conducteur active chez le spectateur une mémoire des émotions, logée près de notre inconscient, qui abrite nos souvenirs pliés, mis de côté, nos Folded Memories.

FOLDED MEMORIES

 

Exposition | mardi 21 - dimanche 26 mai 2024

Vernissage | mardi 21 mai de 17h30 à 20h30

15 rue Guénégaud, 75006 Paris

Ouvert du mardi au samedi de 14h à 18h

Contact | mathilde.m.lecoz@gmail.com

+33 (0)6 35 60 11 07 - @mathildemlecoz

bottom of page